//
you're reading...
Haiti, Project Leogane

I’ll Never Forget How Haiti Made Me Feel

To adapt a quote from Maya Angelou: I’ve forgotten a lot of the things people said to me in Haiti and I’ve forgotten some of the things I did there, but I know I’ll never forget how the country and its people made me feel. It wasn’t all a bed of roses mind you, there was frustration as well as joy and sadness as well as satisfaction. Through it all though was a tangible undercurrent of vibrance, resiliance and life.

This is a tough place and yet people are quick to smile. Progress is slow and yet people persevere.

So I’m asking you not to forget how you felt when you first learned of the January 12 2010 earthquake, how your heart went out to the Haitian people, how you wished them well on the long road to recovery and reconstruction.

Zanmi mwen en Ayiti, m manke ou ampil.

An All Hands school build, by David Alexander (June 2010)

About Jess UK

Fell in love with the crazy, inspiring, all-or-nothing world of disaster response and the wonderfully ridiculous, hard-working people who are drawn to it. Currently working in the Philippines as part of the recovery efforts after Typhoon Washi/Sendong! Want to know more? Check out disasterchasers.wordpress.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

