//
you're reading...
Haiti, Japan

Style Update: Socks Are Back

I love my new socks (not pictured) but these look lovely too.

Spending the better part of last year in Haiti socks were not a big feature of my wardrobe but something makes me think this season they might come back in a big way.

Following on from identical trends through summer and autumn, winter in Haiti saw the fashion-forward donning tank tops and sports shorts. Must have colours included “clean” (read; newly arrived from overseas) and “dark grey” (read; was black but one hour drying in the Caribbean sun bleached it somewhat/a lot). Most worn patterns ranged from dirty on account of having to handwash everything, to bleach stained, for the same reason.

I have said before on this blog: Japan is good to us. Very good. Although my new sartorial leaning is the layered look (read: wearing all my clothes at once because I’m still not used to be out of the tropics) I have access to not one, not two, but three washing machines. My clothes are soft and clean and sweet smelling. As soon as the weather perks up I’m going to treat myself to some brightly coloured leggings and a big draped t-shirt and I’ll be back to my old slightly stylish self.

PS I can actually do this because there are shops here. And not just any old shops. Amazing Asian shops. Sweet.

About Jess UK

Fell in love with the crazy, inspiring, all-or-nothing world of disaster response and the wonderfully ridiculous, hard-working people who are drawn to it. Currently working in the Philippines as part of the recovery efforts after Typhoon Washi/Sendong! Want to know more? Check out disasterchasers.wordpress.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

