//
you're reading...
Japan, Project Tohoku

Ja-Pancake Breakfast

This one just doesn’t get old. For me at least. On every project I’ve been on, and for a good few before, there has been a tradition of a weekly pancake breakfast. Because there is no nightly meeting on our day off – because its a day off – the next day we have a morning meeting as well as our usual evening meeting. To soften the blow of having to rouse ourselves half an hour earlier than usual the staff prepare a pancake breakfast for us to munch while we meet.

Swilling down super-sweet coffee with powdered milk and banana pancakes I could almost think I was back on the backpackers’ trail until I remember I have socks on and work to do and my arms still hurt from Sunday.

Credit goes to Project Director Chris and my award for joke-of-the-project-so-far is his. I’ll get started on a trophy.

About Jess UK

Fell in love with the crazy, inspiring, all-or-nothing world of disaster response and the wonderfully ridiculous, hard-working people who are drawn to it. Currently working in the Philippines as part of the recovery efforts after Typhoon Washi/Sendong! Want to know more? Check out disasterchasers.wordpress.com.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Ja-Pancake Breakfast

  1. Need some real syrup?

    Posted by David | May 12, 2011, 10:48 pm
  2. Pfff… Japanese pancakes are boring! Here, in Leogane we now have CREPES every monday morning!! =)
    French touch!
    Hope you’re ok, great website!

    Posted by Nico | May 13, 2011, 2:00 pm
    • Cheers Nico, I have to say I do like pancakes (which is what we call crepes in England, not these big puffy things) but Japan is just edging ahead in the breakfast stakes because we have noodles. There’s nothing I missed more about Asia than noodles for breakfast. Don’t worry I can see the look of disgust on your French face but each to their own I say!

      Posted by Jess UK | May 13, 2011, 2:30 pm
  3. Yeah, Léogâne– not just French creeps but also BBQ pancakes and Gatorade pancakes. Honest.

    Posted by David | May 13, 2011, 9:20 pm

Leave a Reply

