//
you're reading...
Japan, Project Tohoku

Seven Arrivals, One Mexican

Good job I just had a vacation because my day off involved inducting seven new volunteers into the wonderful world of All Hands. I’m responsible for collecting volunteers’ personal information in case of an emergency and letting them know our schedule, our rules and the way things work here in Japan. It’s aways nice to put a name to a face as I have email conversations – some of them in particularly thrilling detail – with all incoming volunteers’ and people can be so different to how I imagine them from their words. I guess I have to forgive all those people who think I’m a boy – “What?” I hear you cry, “but Jess is so obviously a girl’s name”. I know, that’s what I thought, but back to the story – because I did the same thing twice today!

And the Mexican was for dinner. We haven’t resorted to cannibalism, just to the tins of Stagg chilli on the free food shelf. Thankfully Neil whipped up some delicious re-fried beans and crab salad and I managed to knock out a fair attempt at tortillas so it turned out pretty damn good actually. We definitely need to add chillies to the wish list though. The Japanese are not famous for their spicy food and the chillies Neil bought today turned out to be miniature green peppers. After the Indian food we had in Tokyo I’ve got a real taste for a bit of heat. Anybody up for sending us a little care package?!

About Jess UK

Fell in love with the crazy, inspiring, all-or-nothing world of disaster response and the wonderfully ridiculous, hard-working people who are drawn to it. Currently working in the Philippines as part of the recovery efforts after Typhoon Washi/Sendong! Want to know more? Check out disasterchasers.wordpress.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

