//
you're reading...
Haiti, Japan, Project Tohoku

Just Like the Good Old Days

I have felt better. After a really great night at karaoke for Becci’s birthday I headed to bed a little the worse for wear at 2am. I have to admit I wasn’t thrilled about the idea of karaoke what with there being zero chance of me singing and the fact that I would have to pay Y1000 per hour for the pleasure. I am rather tight with my money and am also notoriously bad at drinking and didn’t think I could drink Y1000’s worth of beer, even in the first hour and definitely not during subsequent hours. Turns out I was wrong. And now I’m paying for it a little!

Then, to add the icing to the cake I set my alarm for 6.45 and got up this morning as my fellow karaoke-ers slumbered on in order to greet two new arrivals off the overnight bus. I can only say that the isotonic drink I found on the free shelf was a life saver and was probably solely responsible for everything productive I managed to do today, including but not limited to finding Kim when she got lost, finishing off “A Cure for Death By Lightning” (a wonderful book that I highly recommend) and bossing people around for not doing their dishes.

Thankfully I have intermittently napped for most of the rest of today, rising only to greet two later arrivals and to cook bacon and eggs (provided by Eric this week, thanks Eric) and later spaghetti and meatballs (using leftover pork mince from Kim and blue cheese from Terri, thanks Kim and Terri). And of course, finding time in this busy schedule to accomplish all the tasks above too. Possibly my most Haiti-esque day so far on Project Tohoku; working on my day off and slowly trying to recover from the night before!

About Jess UK

Fell in love with the crazy, inspiring, all-or-nothing world of disaster response and the wonderfully ridiculous, hard-working people who are drawn to it. Currently working in the Philippines as part of the recovery efforts after Typhoon Washi/Sendong! Want to know more? Check out disasterchasers.wordpress.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

