//
you're reading...
All Hands Volunteers, Project Catskills, Project Minot

New York! New York!

My two week holiday in the US is turning into a rather more permanent presence! A week of rest in Missouri, two months of flood response in North Dakota and on Monday I’m heading to upstate New York to help with All Hands’ newly-launched hurricane relief effort in the Catskills. Having traveled stateside to stay with Neil’s parents, and therefore armed with only my meager supply of presentable clothing, I found myself on project and almost in Canada without a single pair of trousers or a closed toe shoe. Thankfully the weather has been glorious and the donated Birkenstocks (thanks Sandy!) have been just fine. Until this week. The temperature has dropped from up around 30C (high 80s F) to chilly single figures (40s) in only a couple of days.

I had been holding off on buying substantial footwear as who knows where I’ll end up in a couple of weeks, but now my toes are blue and I’m told that New York is even worse. Excuse me while I head out – yes, in sandals – to scour the local charity shops for a bobble hat and a pair of ski boots.

About Jess UK

Fell in love with the crazy, inspiring, all-or-nothing world of disaster response and the wonderfully ridiculous, hard-working people who are drawn to it. Currently working in the Philippines as part of the recovery efforts after Typhoon Washi/Sendong! Want to know more? Check out disasterchasers.wordpress.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

