//
you're reading...
All Hands Volunteers, Philippines, Project Cagayan de Oro

Moving day

Jeepney

I am still waking up at 5am on account of jet lag so I had plenty of time to eat breakfast, fire off a few emails to potential volunteers and pack everything back into my bags before the big move began. You wouldn’t have thought I’d have unpacked much, only having been here since Wednesday, but no, there was nothing left in my suitcase save a mosquito net and a pair of socks. Of course, even getting up at five does not give you time to pull off the incredible and physics-defying game of tetris I had pulled off once  again when packing my stuff and so I struggled downstairs with twice the number of bags I had come with, each bursting at the zips with things I didn’t know I’d brought, and loaded myself and all my worldly goods (except all those boxes lovely stored in my parent’s loft!) into a Jeepney for transporting to the new base.

Tonight the Project CDO advance team spends its first night in what will be our home for at least the next two months. Preparations now move into a more tangible stage. Paperwork is approved and ready. Systems and back-up plans have been discussed and agreed upon. Now we start fitting out a beautiful family home into a space that can accommodate up to 35 busy, dirty, rambunctious people. We need gallons of cleaning products, miles of toilet paper, things to sit on, eat off, eat with … and so on. Thankfully the team is pretty small right now so all this can wait for the morning, because that jet lag is kicking in again. Bed time at 7.45 – and you thought it was all glamour and excitement! Well, long hours of mud and sledgehammers and emails at the very least.

About Jess UK

Fell in love with the crazy, inspiring, all-or-nothing world of disaster response and the wonderfully ridiculous, hard-working people who are drawn to it. Currently working in the Philippines as part of the recovery efforts after Typhoon Washi/Sendong! Want to know more? Check out disasterchasers.wordpress.com.

Discussion

One thought on “Moving day

  1. Go get em. Wish I could be there to help!

    Posted by Mike | January 14, 2012, 11:59 am

Leave a Reply

